Archery

I’ve been doing an evening class in archery since September and last night was the last class before the yuletide break. If only more people got involved in adult education classes; they’re such a great way to meet likeminded people.

I’m hooked on archery now. There’s something very elemental about shooting a bow. Its very ritualistic – the approach, the stance and the zen-like moment of peace and utter concentration just before the release. It’s almost a meditation. This combined with the veneration of the equipment, the physicality of the draw and the satisfying sound of arrow hitting home makes archery a wonderful example of tangible sanctity.

Next term I hope to be buying a bow of my own to look after and begin building a relationship with. Eventually I hope to craft my own traditional bow from yew and sinew, but that is a huge commitment. To begin with I’ll be buying a simple recurve bow and becoming familiar with that.

1 comment so far

  1. […] Consciousness I’ve recently taken up archery with my wife and my daughter, following Oaklore’s shining example. We are only at the training stage, but it certainly seems to qualify as a wholesome family […]


Leave a Reply

