Bone knife

Here’s a bone knife I’ve just finished. The bone is a cow bone from the butcher (dog bone), filed, sanded and polished into a blade. It’s hafted onto a yew handle with animal glue and sinew. It’s good for cutting fruit and vegetables. I might consider serrating it at a later stage so that it can be used for cutting meat.

15 comments so far

  1. tico vogt on

    It’s beautiful. Is it a cow or dog bone? I have a bunch of small yew pieces from an English Yew board. This is a great idea for what to do with them.

  2. tangiblesanctity on

    Hi Tico. It’s a cow bone of the type butchers give you for your dog to chew!

  3. James watson on

    nice! For your next you may want to experiment with heating and burnishing the edge.

  4. tangiblesanctity on

    Thanks James. Does that strengthen the blade? I imagine the edge would be prone to burning, so it would just be a gentle indirect heat would it, i.e. no colour change? And burnish it with a smooth stone or glass?

    I could still do it to this one I guess, although I am planning a smaller double edged blade to hang around my neck. I was thinking I could wear it as a pendant and it would double as a spear head in a survival situation, with the cord to bind it onto a stick.

  5. James Watson on

    LOL Experiment! It makes the blade more brittel, and therefore more… It’s possible to shave with bone!

  6. tangiblesanctity on

    Damn you… making me want to find things out and learn! Lol! 😉

  7. Howling Coyote on

    I’ve played with bone and flame, though I dont know where to go to get more (I’m in the states) bone, but I love to make craft’s, I am working on a commision to make a push knife keychain, any advice on it?

  8. tangiblesanctity on

    As in http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Push_dagger ? Vicious! I just get bone from the butcher’s shop.

  9. Howling Coyote on

    well, it seem’s the stuff at Petsmart and Petco. and other pet store’s work verry well, as well as their rawhide, just as long as you do not use the smoked, or flavored stuff’s

  10. carib_hunter on

    I really admire this bone and wood knife. if you mind me asking what part of the cow did you use as the blade? I havn’t been able to find an identical bone that i could work to get the exact size and texture shown in your pic.

  11. tangiblesanctity on

    It think it must have been a femur as it was quite a big hollow bone. I used the flattest side.

  12. Tub Chair on

    the pet store here in our area offers me a great deal of discount when i buy from them :;-

  13. antonio on

    shin

  14. Deborah Bigham on

    It’s gorgeous. My son is wanting one like it for his birthday, do you make them to sell or as one of a kind keep it forever kind of things?
    Thanks, Debbers

  15. Eberhardt on

    Just out of curiosity (since I can’t see that in the picture): how long is the tang? Does it go the full extent of the handle?


Leave a Reply

