Basketmaking

I did a two day basketmaking course on the weekend and came home with this. It’s a shallow willow basket about 14 inches in diameter with a plait border.

The course was run by Sheila Wynter in her beautiful old stone cottage in Stroud, Gloucestershire. It was perfect for beginners and intermediate basketmakers alike and great value at £95 each for two days including lunch and materials. Sheila doesn’t have a website, but if anyone’s interested in doing one of her courses let me know and I will put you in touch with her.

I really enjoyed learning about all the different processes that make up a basket and am definitely going to take it forward, hopefully making  some more primitive baskets with hedgerow plants as well as willow.

5 comments so far

  1. graeme malcolm on

    hello
    i am an old friend of Sheila and her family
    please send her my e mail so that i may re establish my connection with her.
    thankyou
    graeme

  2. samantha veitch on

    Hi there,

    I would really like to do one of Sheilas course but can not find any contact details apart from an addess- could you please forward her my details or email me hers??
    thanks
    samantha veitch
    swing_ur_pants@hotmail.com
    07739577421

  3. Graeme Malcolm on

    Graeme s e mail
    Gramalcolm@yahoo.com

  4. sue moxon on

    Please could you give Sheila my email & tele no as I would like to know about her courses suemoxon1@gmail.com 01285 862433

  5. Terrie Leonard (Mrs) on

    I am trying to contact Sheila Wynter.
    I hope you don’t mind me contacting you. Angela Garfield from Chalford Hill, Stroud, recommended her when I contacted her about our project.
    I have a basket woven baby crib and stand in need of some TLC. My husband used it as a baby 66 years ago, and it has been passed around the family, used by many babies since!
    My eldest daughter and her husband are expecting a baby at the end of June/ beginning of July and whilst the crib and stand have fared quite well over the years, they now need some repairs.

    I’m not sure but I think it might be a combination of basket work and cane work.

    It was made by a blind person!

    I’m wondering if you might be able to help us? Or maybe suggest someone who can? I have, so far, contacted more than ten experts without success.

    I have attached photographs in the hope that this is a project you or Sheila might be able to help us with.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Terrie Leonard (Mrs)


Leave a comment